I love your lack of confidence
the way you present yourself in that
off-comfortable way
head down – neck stretched down
anti-giraffe, ostrich if your
double chin could act as sand
layered in fat as a shield, armour
human, organic camouflage
you’ve been so busy
caught up in daily life

you are the bitterness in my coffee
the flavor I seek out
to keep me humble and awake
to flashes of moon in your eyes
as we speak in low tones
under the grand expanse of stars
mapped out in your motions
you are the earth, solid
leaving me effortless
in breath

Leave a Reply

