To See Yourself; To See Through Yourself

IMG_20151219_160722illuminate the cry
to arms
the cry
to collect
gather
mend and make and mash together
perfect unpalatable words
used inefficiently, used cowardly
your emotions seep through your lips
spilling and tumbling down your top
in careless, haphazard ways
they come to me
they cling to me
they clobber me
I reel;
to release myself from your sordid tone
daily
I must clean myself
defeat your onslaught
of bitter, biting sentiments

I’ve grown too big for this place
I’ve grown too big for you
I’ve outgrown you
your bitterness has crippled you
and it’s starting to infect me

Leave a Reply

